As a victim of a crime in New York State, you should know you have a right:
- To be treated with dignity and respect
- To be informed concerning the criminal justice system
- To discuss your case with the District Attorney and be involved in certain stages of the criminal justice process
- To request restitution
- To prepare a victim impact statement for the Court and, if you were the victim of a felony, to make a statement at the time of the defendant's sentencing
- To be protected from threats or intimidation by the suspect or the suspect's family
- To be notified of the incarceration status of the defendant
Additionally... certain individuals who are the victims of a crime may be eligible for compensation from the New York State Crime Victims Board.
Eligibility for Compensation
Who may be eligible for compensation?
- The victim must be an innocent victim of the crime
- Victims of crime who were physically injured as a result of the crime
- Victims of crime who are under 18, 60 and over, or disabled, who were not physically injured
- Certain relatives and dependants, including surviving spouse, child, parent, brother, sister, stepbrother, stepsister, stepparent or person primarily dependent on the victim for support
- Those who paid for or incurred burial costs for an innocent crime victim
- Child victims, a child who witnesses a crime, and the child's parent, stepparent, grandparent, guardian, brother, sister, stepbrother or stepsister
- Certain victims of unlawful imprisonment or kidnapping
- Certain stalking victims
- Victims of terrorist acts outside of the US who are a resident of New York State
- Victims of frivolous lawsuits brought by a person who committed a crime against the victim
Expenses That May Be Compensated
What kinds of expenses may I get compensated for?
The Crime Victims Board (CVB) offers compensation related to: personal injury, death, and loss of essential personal property.
The specific expenses CVB may cover include:
- Medical and counseling expenses
- Loss or damage of essential personal property (up to $500, including $100 for cash)
- Burial/funeral expenses (up to $6,000)
- Lost wages or lost support (up to $30,000)
- Transportation (necessary court appearances for prosecution)
- Occupational/vocational rehabilitation
- Use of domestic violence shelters
- Crime scene clean-up (up to $2,500)
- Good Samaritan property losses (up to $5,000)
- Moving expenses (up to $2,500)
Contact the NYS Crime Victims Board
Additional information, including the forms needed to seek compensation, can be obtained by contacting the NYS Crime Victims Board.
- NYS Crime Victims Board
- Phone: 800-247-8035
- TTY: 888-289-9747
- Sorenson Videophone: 518-457-8727
- Available Monday through Friday, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Additional Victim Services
In Madison County, additional Victim Services, including:
- 24 hour hotline
- Safe dwelling
- Crisis and short term counseling
- Information and referrals
- Support, accompaniment, and advocacy with legal/medical proceedings
- Support groups
- NYS Crime Victims assistance
- Assistance with Family Court petitions
- Adult and child therapy
Contact Restore Help Center
Adult and child therapy are available through Help Restore Help Center, formerly Victims of Violence Services.
- Liberty Resources, Inc.
- 218 Liberty Street
- Oneida, New York 13421
- Phone: 315-363-0048
- 24 Hour Hotline Number: 315-366-5000 (Collect calls are accepted.)
All victim services are provided free of charge.