Home & Community Based Services

Participants in the HCBS Waiver are developmentally disabled individuals of any age. HCBS participants are usually already involved with ARC (Alternatives Resources Choices) or OPWDD (Office for People with Developmental Disabilities).

Regarding eligibility - children are treated as separate and apart from their parents and only the child’s income and resources (if any) are documented.


For eligibility participants must:

  • Be 18 to 64 years old
  • Be able to be served with the funds and services available under the HCBS/TBI waiver and New York State Medicaid
  • Be eligible for nursing facility level of care
  • Be enrolled in the Medicaid program
  • Choose to live in the community rather than a nursing facility
  • Have a diagnosis of TBI or a related diagnosis
  • Have an in-patient stay of at least 30 days
  • Have or find a living arrangement that meets the person's needs

HCBS/TBI Waiver Services

  • Assistive technology
  • Community integration counseling
  • Community transition services
  • Environmental modifications
  • Independent living skills training and development
  • Intensive behavioral programs
  • Respite care
  • Service coordination
  • Structured day programs
  • Substance abuse programs
  • Transportation