Traumatic Brain Injury Program

Individuals with Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) will be able to choose where and with whom they live, will be able to live self-satisfying lives, and will have decreased dependence on nursing care facilities.


To be eligible for the TBI Medicaid Waiver, you must:

  • Be 18 to 64 years old (individuals injured before the age of 22 may be eligible for services under a waiver operated by the *Office of Mental Retardation and Developmental Disabilities (OMRDD)
  • Be able to be served with the funds and services available under the HCBS/TBI Waiver and NYS Medicaid Plan
  • Be eligible for nursing facility level of care
  • Be enrolled in the Medicaid Program
  • Be given a choice of living in the community or in a nursing facility
  • Have or find a living arrangement that meets the individual’s needs
  • Have a TBI or related diagnosis

*Find more information regarding OMRDD Services and a “Guide to Understanding Supports and Services.”