What are the Pistol Permit Restrictions?
The following is some information regarding restrictions on your Madison County Pistol and Semi-automatic Rifle Permit and when you can carry your legally registered firearms.
You may only carry firearms that are legally registered to your permit.
Carry and Concealed: A permit that will allow you to carry without anywhere it is legal to carry your registered handgun unless posted otherwise. You may not carry into sensitive or restricted locations unless you qualify as one of the exempt individuals.
Possess on Premises: You are permitted to possess your registered handgun within structures and on property that you own or traveling to and from property that you own. You may wear the weapon while traveling to and from any licensed gun dealer or a show or convention where a gun dealer is setup for business, unless such possession is specifically prohibited.
Carry During Employment: A permit issued just to carry during work duties. You are restricted to only carrying during work functions.
Semi-automatic Rifle Permit: A permit that allows you to legally buy and possess a semi-automatic rifle.
Carry and Concealed Permit Information:
As of September 1, 2022 all new Carry and Concealed Pistol Permit applicants MUST complete the state mandated 18-hour firearm safety course. The course consists of 16 hours of classroom and 2 hours of live-fire firearms training. Persons exempt from having to take the course include:
- Active or Retired Police and Peace Officers who have completed the New York State Basic Course for Police Officers approved by the MPTC.
- Active-Duty Military or former Military with an honorable discharge
Carry Concealed: New York State is not an open carry state. All permits are Carry Concealed with exception of Premises Permits.
Carry Concealed Exceptions:
Hunting is an exception to the carry concealed. If you are legally hunting wild game and have a valid permit you are allowed to carry in a semi-open manner. “Semi-open” meaning the weapon carried in a holster or other apparatus that renders the firearm inoperable unless it is removed from the holster or apparatus. Only the “butt” or handle of the firearm may be exposed.
Firing Range: exceptions to carry concealed are also made when you are at a range actively engaged in target shooting or other competition shooting. Be sure to follow the rules set out by your range or the competition committee.
It is your responsibility as a registered gun owner to know when & where it is legal to possess and carry your handgun. Carrying in violation of the restrictions imposed on your permit will result in your permit being suspended or revoked and could also constitute a violation of law.