Young Driver Resources

New Laws for Young Drivers


As of February 22, 2010, these changes to New York's Licensing Laws will affect young drivers:
  • Reduce from two to one the number of non-family passengers under age 21 riding in a motor vehicle operated by a junior license holder when not accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian
  • Elimination of the limited use junior license and require that a junior permit be held for at least 6 months before a junior or senior license may be issued.
  • Increase the number of supervised driving hours before scheduling a road test from 20 to 50 hours, that includes 15 hours of driving after sunset.

Electronic Devices


Effective November 1, 2009, for all drivers it is illegal to text or use any portable electronic device while the vehicle is in motion.

Parents


Parents make a difference when it comes to teen driving:

  • 89% of teens say their parents are most influential in encouraging safe driving.
  • 59% of parents know that motor vehicle crashes are the number 1 killer of teens.
  • Nearly half (49%) incorrectly believe that driving drunk is the main cause of teen crashes when in reality driver error, speeding and distracted driving are the main causes.
  • 50% of teens are less likely to be in a crash if their parents set rules and monitor their activities.
  • 71% of teens are less likely to drive intoxicated when their parents are involved in their driving.

Additional Information


For additional information, please visit the New York DMV Website.